Loading... Please wait...


Do Pick Up Lines Pick Up

"I don't believe in love at first sight but I'm willing to make an exception for you." I'm sure you've all heard that line and some of you will have undoubtedly cringed at the very thought of it. As it happens, pick up lines (or chat up lines) have been around for ages and often get a bad rap, but can they actually work?

A cheesy pick up line is better than an awkward silence and not saying anything. According to studies that depends on the personality traits of the people involved in the exchange. It shows the person delivering the line at least is willing to go out on a limb and make a first move. These days the first move is often a 'swipe right' or a 'flirt' notification from the safety of within their own four walls. So this makes a nice change.

There are varied levels of confidence within pick up lines. Some are daggy; “If you were a basketball, I'd never shoot because I'd always miss you.” Some are funny; “Hey, my name's Microsoft. Can I crash at your place tonight.” Some leave no doubt about a persons intentions; “They say a kiss is the language of love. Wanna have a conversation?”

It's surprising but the pick up line used can tell you a lot about the person. Not only does it let you hear their voice but it can help you decide whether you want to initiate further conversation with them.

A study found that the cheesier the pick up line the shyer the personality of the deliverer. Couple this with the fact that people often look for someone like themselves in terms of confidence levels, a shy recipient is more likely to respond better to a cheesy line. This is because it suggests the deliverer is also shy.

A more confidently delivered and risky pick up line is more likely to work on someone who themselves has self confidence. It might not be the line that works for you but the confidence shown will be admired and can help to start you onto a conversation.

So different people prefer different types of pick up lines. It pays to have a few in your reportoire and to carefully observe the person whom you are interested in. Try and work out what type of personality they are before making your move.

Be careful of the smart comeback though. Some people can be vicious and very quick with their response. For example, how would you feel if you delivered this; “Your face must turn a few heads” and the response, “you must turn a few stomachs” came back. If you are on the receiving end of a 'burn' and you feel like you've just been dumped, try reading our article on How To Survive A Break Up!

If you're not game enough to deliver a pick up line, you could always default to the offer of buying a drink. Or you could say nothing and let the moment slip by and be left wondering all night, what if?

The very least you can say about someone willing to deliver a chat up line is that they have had the courage to say the first line to you. After that, anything can happen. After all, the study found that 72% of people were likely to respond favourably to a well chosen pick up line.

View Comments

How To Survive A Break Up

A long time love, a momentary mistake or a part time partner, breaking up is hard to do. If there was a connection and it’s taken away it can be a very traumatic experience no matter how many times you’ve been in the situation before. How do you survive and move on from these painful emotions?Remember that it is [...]

Read More

​How To Find Love In 2018

You’ve spent the last few weeks tagging along with friends to Christmas and New Year parties in the vain hope of looking for love. Friends have looked after you well with all of the invites and you have managed to enjoy most of the events but your desire for something or someone interesting to pop into your life has [...]

Read More

How to Cure Relationship Boredom

So you’re in a relationship and everything is going swimmingly. You just can’t get enough of each other physically and all you can focus on is the next time you’re going to be together. You’re emotionally in tune with each other, you know what each other want and how to make each other happy. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if [...]

Read More

Signs He’s Interested In You

Have you ever wondered how to tell if a guy is interested in you? Some of us struggle to tell but others just have an instinct and can see it easily. In case you’re one of the one’s who struggle, we’ve put together a few of the more common signs that are sure fire signs that he’s interested [...]

Read More

Five Stages of Relationships

Relationships always seem to start with a burst of excitement or adrenaline. It’s a drug like experience that gets you hooked on someone. There’s a real danger that when this stage of a relationship starts to change, people mistake this shift and think their relationship is falling flat, lacking the initial excitement. The excitement has waned but the rewards [...]

Read More

Love Languages And Zodiac Signs

In this article we explore further into Zodiac Star Signs and specifically to find out if there is a link between your partner’s love language and their star sign. First let us take a look at the love languages before delving into any possible links to star signs.Gary Chapman has defined five love languages in order to help understand how people prefer [...]

Read More

Which Zodiac sign is the best lover?

Continuing on from our series on Zodiac sign partner traits, we’ve taken a peek into the bedroom antics of the different signs to give you a glimpse of what you can expect. Please note that we did not personally give each star sign a test run to verify our findings.Air LoversGemini lovers are like the bedroom gymnasts. The gymnastic Gemini are [...]

Read More

Air Sign Partner Traits – Can You Take To The Air?

Attracted to the warmth of the Fire, the quenching of the Water or the grandness of the Earth? If not, then let the Air signs consume you as we put their personality types to the test. Can you see your ideal match in the air?If you love being entertained by the enthusiasm of another person then you may [...]

Read More

Earth Sign Partner Traits – Can You Tread The Earth?

First there was the Fire and then the Water came flooding in. Let’s have a look now into the state of the Earth signs and put their personality types under the microscope. Will you find your ideal match walking the earth?Is generosity a key trait you’re looking for in your ideal match? If so, a person with the star [...]

Read More

Back to Top